UniSkills Workshops

What is a UniSkills Workshops?

UniSkills workshops are an opportunity for a deeper dive into a specific skill that will support you on your academic journey. Facilitated by our friendly and knowledgeable Academic Skills Advisors, the workshops provide an informal safe space where you will be supported alongside other students in a small group setting.

This term all our workshops will be delivered online and facilitated as a series of webinars. This allows you to join and take part wherever you are – and don’t forget you can attend as many webinars as you like!

Workshops Available

UniSkills Webinars will return in autumn 2021. 

For any new Edge Hill University students joining us this coming autumn be sure to take a look at our Getting Started With UniSkills web pages. On here you will discover upcoming  introductory webinars, interactive toolkits and a host of supporting information to prepare you as you transition into University this autumn.

How to book a UniSkills Webinar

You can view and book on any (or all!) of our UniSkills webinars on the the new student portal – watch our quick video guide for more info…

 

How to get the most out of your UniSkills Webinar

Watch our handy video guide on how to get the most out of attending your UniSkills Webinar…

Students can self-book on any of the webinars listed below via our new student portal.

APRIL 2021

Mon 12th Apr (12pm-1pm) – Introduction to Academic Writing
Tue 13th Apr (1pm-2pm) – Develop Your Academic Writing
Wed 14th Apr (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Fri 16th Apr (1pm-2pm) – Become a Paraphrasing Pro

Tue 20th Apr (11am-12pm) – READY, SET, REVISE: Study Smarter for Exams
Tue 20th Apr (12pm-1pm) – Finding Academic Information
Wed 21st Apr (12pm-1pm) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 21st Apr (2pm-2:45pm) – Using Harvard Referencing
Thu 22nd Apr (1pm-2pm) – Powerful Presentations
Fri 23rd Apr (12pm-1pm) – Conducting a Literature Review

Mon 26th Apr (12pm-1pm) – Grow Your Academic Resilience
Tue 27th Apr (11am-12pm) – Harnessing Digital Accessibility (UniSkills Extra)
Tue 27th Apr (1pm-2pm) – Being Critical
Wed 28th Apr (10am-11am) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 1 (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 28th Apr (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Thu 29th Apr (12pm-1pm) – Develop Your Proofreading Strategies
Thu 29th Apr (2pm-3pm) – READY, SET, REVISE: Goal Setting for Exam Motivation

MAY 2021

Tue 4th May (12pm-1pm) – Develop Your Academic Writing
Wed 5th May (10am-11am) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 2 (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 5th May (1pm-2pm) – Powerful Presentations
Thu 6th May (1pm-2pm) – Reading Academic Texts
Fri 7th May (10am-11am) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)

Mon 10th May (1pm-1:45pm) – Using Harvard Referencing
Tue 11th May (12pm-12:30pm) – How to Action Plan Your Feedback (Bitesize)
Wed 12th May (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Thu 13th May (12pm-1pm) – Finding Academic Information
Fri 14th May (1pm-2pm) – Harnessing Digital Accessibility (UniSkills Extra)

Tue 18th May (11am-12pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 1 (UniSkills Extra)
Tue 18th May (1pm-2pm) – Introduction to Academic Writing
Wed 19th May (12pm-1pm) – Develop Your Academic Writing
Thu 20th May (1pm-2pm) – Develop Your Proofreading Strategies
Fri 21st May (1pm-2pm) – Reading Academic Texts

Mon 24th May (1pm-2pm) – Being Critical
Wed 26th May (11am-12pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 2 (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 26th May (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Thu 27th May (12pm-1pm) – Become a Paraphrasing Pro

JUNE 2021

Mon 7th Jun (1pm-2pm) – Introduction to Academic Writing
Wed 9th Jun (12pm-1pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 1 (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 9th Jun (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Fri 11th Jun (12pm-12:45pm) – Using Harvard Referencing  

Mon 14 Jun (1pm-1:30pm) – How to Action Plan Your Feedback (Bitesize)
Wed 16th Jun (10am-11am) – Harnessing Digital Accessibility (UniSkills Extra)
Thu 17th Jun (12pm-1pm) – Conducting a Literature Review

Mon 21st Jun (12pm-1pm) – Grow Your Academic Resilience
Wed 23rd Jun (11am-12pm) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 23rd Jun (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning

Mon 28th Jun – Fri 2nd Jul (12:30pm-1pm) – Planning Ahead With UniSkills
Wed 30th Jun (10am-11am) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 2 (UniSkills Extra)

Our Uniskills workshops/webinars run throughout the academic year and cover a range of key academic skills including:

  • Academic reading, writing and referencing
  • Effective exam preparation
  • Finding academic print and digital resources
  • Conducting a literature review
  • Presentation skills
  • And much more…

We have recently transitioned to a new booking system and you can now view and book all UniSkills webinars in one handy location on the new student portal.

If you experience any problems accessing the new system or would like any support booking onto a UniSkills workshop/webinar then please get in touch with us.

Student Feedback

We love hearing your feedback about our Uniskills workshops. Here are just a few examples of feedback we have received this last academic year:

“The session was excellent, it really put me and a friend at ease”

“The workshop was supportive and answered my questions very well, I understand the topic better now”

“Thank you for being there to help with invaluable information and support!”

“Really enjoyed it, very informative and will definitely be back for a different session”

“I find the Uniskills courses excellent and they have helped me enormously”

If you have any feedback about a session you attended, or would like to make a suggestion for future topics please do get in touch.

Further Help & Support