Teaching and Learning in the Medical Workplace CPD4706

Overview

Teaching and Learning in the Medical Workplace offers an introduction to fundamental principles of medical education and the role of the Clinical Supervisor in the medical workplace. The module is recognised by Health Education England North West as meeting the GMC requirements for the role of Clinical Supervisor.
Satisfactory completion of this module will provide recognised evidence in the following domains of the GMC’s standards for Clinical Supervisor status:
• Domain 1: Ensuring safe and effective patient care
• Domain 2: Establishing and maintaining an environment for learning
• Domain 3: Teaching and facilitating learning
• Domain 4: Enhancing learning through assessment

Module Code: CPD4706
Level: 7
Credits: 20
Cost: £700 for Sept 2019 to July 2020

Who is this module for?

The module is suitable for consultants, higher speciality trainees (eg ST3 and above) and non-consultant career-grade doctors. Applicants working within the Health Education England North West region may be eligible for funding. The module is specifically designed for those working in hospital-based specialties..

What are the key aims of the programme?

• To study the core principles of postgraduate medical education in the clinical workplace at a time and location that suits you.
• To enable participants to provide evidence of appropriate training to meet the General Medical Council (GMC) requirements for the clinical supervision of postgraduate trainees.

What will I study?

This module offers an introduction to medical education and clinical supervision in the medical workplace.

The module will raise your awareness of key concepts involved in teaching and facilitating learning, including understanding learning, the educational climate, adult learning theories, styles of learning, styles of teaching, clinical skills teaching and clinical workplace teaching. You will also explore to the principles of reflective practice, workplace-based assessment, feedback, portfolios and supervision.

How will I be assessed?

The module assessment will build on what you learn during your studies and you will be required to produce two pieces of academic work to demonstrate your achievement of the module learning outcomes:
Assessment 1: Personal Philosophy of Teaching (Essay)
Assessment 2: Peer Observation of Teaching (Essay and Portfolio)

On successful completion you will:

Successful completion of this module will enable you to critically analyse and explore the role of teaching and learning in the clinical context and make critical judgments about the support of trainees within the medical workplace. You will be able to provide evidence that you have met the GMC requirements for the role of Clinical Supervisor.

You will enhance your skills in teaching, assessment, clinical supervision and reflective practice, with the opportunity to review your own professional development needs as an educator and to plan and undertake relevant and appropriate activities to meet those identified needs.

Study Dates and Venues

September 2019

Venue: Ormskirk Campus

Starts: Wed 4th Sep 2019

Session Times:
For this module, you are required to attend one full day session (Workshop 1) and three half day sessions (Workshops 2, 3 and 4). Attendance at workshops is mandatory, hence there is a choice of dates/times for each session. Please ensure you request study leave accordingly and are available to attend one of each of the workshop sessions (i.e. Workshop 1, Workshop 2, Workshop 3 and Workshop 4).
  • Induction day and WS1a, Wednesday, 04/09/2019, 8.30 am to 4.30 pm
  • Induction day and WS1b, Friday, 06/09/2019, 8.30 am to 4.30 pm
  • Induction day and WS1c, Monday, 09/09/2019, 8.30 am to 4.30 pm
  • WS2a, Monday, 16/09/2019, 08.30 am to Noon
  • WS2b, Thursday, 19/09/2019, 08.30 am to Noon
  • WS2c, Wednesday, 25/09/2019, 1.45pm to 5.00 pm
  • WS2d, Friday, 27/09/2019, 1.45pm to 5.00 pm
  • WS3a, Monday, 07/10/2019, 08.30 am to Noon
  • WS3b, Thursday, 10/10/2019, 8.30 am to Noon
  • WS3c, Wednesday, 16/10/2019, 1.45pm to 5.00pm
  • WS3d, Friday, 18/10/2019, 1.45 pm to 5.00 pm
  • WS4a, Monday, 04/11/2019, 08.30 am to Noon
  • WS4b, Thursday, 07/11/2019, 8.30 am to Noon
  • WS4c, Wednesday, 13/11/2019, 1.45pm to 5.00pm
  • WS4d, Friday, 15/11/2019, 1.45 pm to 5.00 pm
  • Assignment submission: Mon, 16th December 2019, 4pm
  • Study dates and times are subject to change.

    February 2020

    Venue: Ormskirk Campus

    Starts: Wed 19th Feb 2020

    Session Times:
    For this module, you are required to attend one full day session (Workshop 1) and three half day sessions (Workshops 2, 3 and 4). Attendance at workshops is mandatory, hence there is a choice of dates/times for each session. Please ensure you request study leave accordingly and are available to attend one of each of the workshop sessions (i.e. Workshop 1, Workshop 2, Workshop 3 and Workshop 4).
    • Induction day and WS1a, Wednesday, 19/02/2020, 8.30 am to 4.30 pm
    • Induction day and WS1b, Friday, 21/02/2020, 8.30 am to 4.30 pm
    • Induction day and WS1c, Monday, 24/02/2020, 8.30 am to 4.30 pm
    • WS2a, Monday, 02/03/2020, 08.30 am to Noon
    • WS2b, Thursday, 05/03/2020, 08.30 am to Noon
    • WS2c, Wednesday, 11/03/2020, 1.45pm to 5.00 pm
    • WS2d, Friday, 13/03/2020, 1.45pm to 5.00 pm
    • WS3a, Monday, 23/03/2020, 08.30 am to Noon
    • WS3b, Thursday, 26/03/2020, 8.30 am to Noon
    • WS3c, Wednesday, 01/04/2020, 1.45pm to 5.00pm
    • WS3d, Friday, 03/04/2020, 1.45 pm to 5.00 pm
    • WS4a, Monday, 20/04/2020, 08.30 am to Noon
    • WS4b, Thursday, 23/04/2020, 8.30 am to Noon
    • WS4c, Wednesday, 29/04/2020, 1.45pm to 5.00pm
    • WS4d, Friday, 01/05/2020, 1.45 pm to 5.00 pm
  • Assignment submission: Mon, 1st June 2020, 4pm
  • Study dates and times are subject to change.

    Further Information

    Module availability varies from year to year and will be subject to minimum student numbers being achieved. Places will be allocated on a first come first served basis. Due to the popularity of some modules it may be that the module is fully booked when your application is received. We will include your details on a waiting list and allocate you a place on the next available intake.

    For details of how to apply, please visit www.edgehill.ac.uk/health/cpd/apply.

    If you have any other queries about studying with us, please see the FAQs www.edgehill.ac.uk/health/cpd/faqs.

    For further information on module content, please contact the module leader - Helen McNeill
    email McNeillh@edgehill.ac.uk or T: 01695 650846

    Pathways

    This module is available as a standalone module or as a module within the