Research Methods HEA3102

Overview

This module is designed to enable students to develop an understanding of the research process and the nature and variety of research methods together with the need for an evidence base to guide decision making process. The design of the module allows for face-to-face and blended learning. Its characteristic features are to encourage students to see qualitative and quantitative methods as equally valuable and often complementary and to involve students, wherever possible, in using and applying the methods rather than merely talking about them.

Module Code: HEA3102
Level: 6
Credits: 20
Cost: £680 Price for Sept 2019 to Jul 2020

Who is this module for?

Health and social care professionals; allied health professionals. The module can be accessed as part of a degree pathway or as a stand alone module. The module is a compulsory module on all BSc (Hons) Health and Social Care Practice pathways.

What are the key aims of the programme?

  • To develop students' critical appraisal skills;
  • To develop students' skills in research methodology;
  • To gain an understanding of research methodology and its practical applications;
  • To have an understanding of the research process and related methodology;
  • To utilise the skills and techniques of research methodology in their work setting;
  • To have an awareness of SPSS.

What will I study?

• Introduction to evidence-based practice
• Critical appraisal of research literature
• Introduction to research methodologies
• Critical analysis of research methodologies and methods
• Preparation of research proposals

How will I be assessed?

A 4,000 word assignment.

On successful completion you will:

  • Demonstrate a critical understanding of the nature and validity of key quantitative and qualitative research methods;
  • Critically evaluate methods of data collection and analysis pertaining to the students area of practice;
  • Demonstrate skills to critically appraise published research studies;
  • Critically examine and reflect upon the process involved in the development of a research proposal, demonstrating an awareness and understanding of ethical and equal opportunities issues involved in research design.

Study Dates and Venues

September 2019 S1

Venue: Ormskirk Campus

Starts: Wed 11th Sep 2019

Session Times:
  • 1st Session: Wednesday, 11 Sep 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 2nd Session: Wednesday, 18 Sep 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 3rd Session: Wednesday, 25 Sep 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 4th Session: Wednesday, 02 Oct 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 5th Session: Wednesday, 09 Oct 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 6th Session: Wednesday, 16 Oct 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 7th Session: Wednesday, 23 Oct 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 8th Session: Wednesday, 30 Oct 19, READING WEEK
  • 9th Session: Wednesday, 06 Nov 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 10th Session: Wednesday, 13 Nov 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 11th Session: Wednesday, 20 Nov 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • 12th Session: Wednesday, 27 Nov 19, 9.00 am – 12 noon, Attendance
  • Assignment Submission, Friday, 20 Dec 19, 4.00 pm
  • Study dates and times are subject to change.

February 2020 S2

Venue: Ormskirk Campus

Starts: Wed 5th Feb 2020

Session Times:
  • 1st Session: Wednesday, 05 Feb 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 2nd Session: Wednesday, 12 Feb 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 3rd Session: Wednesday, 19 Feb 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 4th Session: Wednesday, 26 Feb 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 5th Session: Wednesday, 04 Mar 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 6th Session: Wednesday, 11 Mar 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 7th Session: Wednesday, 18 Mar 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 8th Session: Wednesday, 25 Mar 2020, Reading Week
  • 9th Session: Wednesday, 01 Apr 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 10th Session: Wednesday, 08 Apr 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 11th Session: Wednesday, 15 Apr 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • 12th Session: Wednesday, 22 Apr 2020, 2.00pm – 5pm, Attendance
  • Assignment Submission, Wednesday, 20 May 2020, 4.00 pm,
  • Study dates and times are subject to change.

Further Information

Module availability varies from year to year and will be subject to minimum student numbers being achieved. Places will be allocated on a first come first served basis. Due to the popularity of some modules it may be that the module is fully booked when your application is received. We will include your details on a waiting list and allocate you a place on the next available intake.

For details of how to apply, please visit www.edgehill.ac.uk/health/cpd/apply.

If you have any other queries about studying with us, please see the FAQs www.edgehill.ac.uk/health/cpd/faqs.

For further information regarding module content please contact Module Coordinator Paul Rawling on 01695 657047 or email rawlingp@edgehill.ac.uk

Pathways

This module is available to study on a standalone basis and it is a core module on the following programmes: