Skip Navigation
Health Research Institute (HRI)

Joint directors

Prof Greg Irving headshot

Dr Greg Irving

Greg is Professor of Primary & Integrated care. He is Director of Research for NHS Cheshire & Merseyside and leads the complexity and uncertainty theme on the MBChB at Edge Hill Medical School. 

He has received three consecutive personal National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Fellowships  including a Academic Clinical Fellow, Doctoral and Academic Clinical Lecturer awards.

Read more about Dr Greg Irving’s work
Headshot of Professor Sarah O'Brien

Professor Sarah O’Brien

Sarah was previously the executive director of strategy and system development for Cheshire and Merseyside Health and Care Partnership. She brings a huge amount of experience as a clinical leader working across NHS providers, commissioning, local government, and an integrated care system.

Sarah is passionate about raising ambitions and equal opportunities for young people, including encouraging them to pursue a career in healthcare. In 2020 she was appointed honorary professor for Edge Hill University’s new medical school thanks not only to her expertise, but the value she places on improving people’s life chances.

Read more about Prof Sarah O’Brien’s work

Primary care team members

  • Prof Rowan Pritchard-Jones (Medical Director, Cheshire and Mersey Integrated Care System).
  • Prof Paola Day (Professor of Public Health)
  • Prof John Sanders (Professor of Medical Education, Edge Hill University)
  • Prof Marcello Trovati (Professor of Computer Science)
  • Dr Axel Kaehne (Reader in Health Services Research)
  • Dr Katherine Knighting (Reader in Palliative and Supportive Care)
  • Dr Louise Cope (Senior Lecturer in Medical Education and Pharmacist)
  • Dr Michael Lloyd (Head Pharmacist, St Helens and Knowsley Hospital)
  • Dr Mohammed Moinuddin (Post Doc Research Assistant in Medical Statistics)
  • Dr Anna Evans (NIHR North West Coast PhD student and General Practitioner)
  • Lucy Kaluvu (NIHR North West Coast PhD and Epidemiologist)
  • Dr Lobna Al Sodani (GP Plus trainee in Primary Care Research).

External colleagues

  • Prof Mari Lloyd-Williams (Professor of Primary Palliative Care)
  • Prof Gregory Lip (Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Liverpool)
  • Prof Mark Gabbay (Professor of Primary Care and Mental Health, University of Liverpool)
  • Prof Nefyn Williams (Professor of Primary Care, University of Liverpool)
  • Prof Joanne Reeve (Professor of Primary Care, Hull-York Medical School)
  • Prof Steve Cox (Chair Mersey RCGP Faculty)
  • Dr Ana Luisa-Neves (Fellow and General Practitioner, Imperial College London)
  • Dr Jessica Watson (NIHR Clinical Lecturer in General Practice, University of Bristol)
  • Masahiro Kaneko (Associate Professor of General Practice, Yokohama City University).
  • External director: Joanne Reeve (Prof of Primary Care Research, Hull York Medical School).

External advisory group

The Directors will be members of the EAG and draw on their primary and integrated care networks to constitute an Advisory Group whose members fulfil the following criteria:

  • Experienced clinical academics with expertise in primary and integrated care research.
  • Health and social care specialists from Primary Care Networks and Integrated Care Systems, including those with knowledge of regional health profiles.
  • Representation from integrated care related industry.
  • Representation from funding bodies and national charities.
  • A patient with a chronic long-term condition(s) and a member of the public with an interest in supporting primary and integrated care.
The role of the Advisory Group
Terms of membership
Reporting Procedures