Skip Navigation
Graduates in front of Happy Graduation Day sign. Clive Myrie James Timpson Sir Terry Leahy Edge Hill graduation.

News story

Four notable names to be awarded honorary doctorates at Edge Hill’s graduations


July 13, 2022

Edge Hill will honour four notable names with honorary doctorates during this year’s graduations.

Media medic Dr Zoe Williams, author Lynda La Plante, actor David Yip and Professor Sarah Niblock, a leader in psychotherapy, will all receive honorary doctorates from the University in recognition of their achievements. 

As leaders in their field, they will join more than 3,000 students on campus, during a week-long celebration of learning and excellence, running from Monday 18 to Friday 22 July. David will receive his Honorary Doctor of Arts award on Tuesday; Sarah, Honorary Doctor of Science, on Wednesday; and Lynda, Honorary Doctor of Arts, and Zoe, Honorary Doctor of Science, on Friday. 

David Yip looks at the camera.
David Yip

Liverpudlian actor David Yip is still remembered by many for creating the role of Detective Sergeant John Ho in the BBC’s The Chinese Detective; starring as the titular character made him the first Chinese lead actor in a British television drama series. 

He has also enjoyed roles in Hollywood films including Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, James Bond – A View to a Kill and Entrapment, as well as appearing in the second and third series of Sky Atlantic’s Fortitude

Dr Zoe Williams smiles at the camera while sitting on a sofa.
Dr Zoe Williams

Dr Zoe Williams, a practising NHS GP, is best known as a resident GP on ITV’s This Morning, in addition to presenting for the BBC’s The One Show, Horizon and Trust Me I’m a Doctor

As a media medic she has won many accolades; she is also a national advisor for Public Health England, a clinical advisor to the Royal College of General Practitioners and a director and founding member of the British Society of Lifestyle Medicine. 

Professor Sarah Niblock smiles at the camera.
Professor Sarah Niblock

Professor Sarah Niblock is a chief executive, higher education leader, disruptor, journalist and public speaker with a global reach. 

She is Chief Executive of the UK Council for Psychotherapy and has held high-ranking positions with University of Westminster and Brunel University London. 

Lynda La Plante smiles at the camera while leaning against a stone wall.
Lynda La Plante

Liverpool-born Lynda La Plante is the author of over forty bestselling novels and made her break into writing for the screen with the phenomenally successful TV series Widows

Her original script for the highly-acclaimed Prime Suspect won awards from BAFTA, the Emmys and the Royal Television Society, and in 2008 she was awarded a CBE for services to literature, drama and charity. 

Dr John Cater, Vice-Chancellor of Edge Hill University, said: “The University is privileged to be awarding Lynda, David, Sarah and Zoe with honorary doctorates alongside our undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. 

“This is a wonderful occasion for everyone involved, made all the more special thanks to a visit from four such leaders in their fields; I hope our graduands will feel inspired by sharing this moment with them.” 

Edge Hill’s Academic Board awards honorary degrees in recognition of the highest levels of personal achievement in academic, professional or public life. 

Previous recipients include American political activist Reverend Jesse Jackson, Jennifer Saunders, Frank Cottrell-Boyce, Ranvir Singh, David Morrissey, Marc Almond and Alexei Sayle. 

July 13, 2022