We are pleased to announce that the winner of this year’s prestigious Edge Hill Short Story Prize, worth £10,000, is Tessa Hadley for her collection Bad Dreams.

The winner was announced at a ceremony in Waterstone’s Piccadilly on Saturday night where four of the shortlisted authors read: Tessa Hadley, Sarah Hall, Alison MacLeod and Tom Rachman.

Sarah Hall won the £1000 Reader’s Prize, selected by twenty Edge Hill Creative Writing students, and MA Creative Writing student Julia Clayton won the MA Prize for most promising student writer.

Details of the 2019 Edge Hill Prize will be released in the new year.

Many thanks to all our brilliant shortlisted writers: Tessa Hadley, Sarah Hall, Alison MacLeod, Tom Rachman and Leone Ross.



Last updated on Last updated on Was this page helpful? Yes NoThanks for your feedback!Please tell us more: