Announcement – 2020 Shortlist

Front covers of the shortlisted short stories





The shortlist for this year’s prestigious Edge Hill Short Story Prize, worth £10,000, has been announced.

Five collections have made the shortlist from the longlist of 12 for the only UK-based award that recognises excellence in a single author short story collection:

Prize organiser Billy Cowan, senior lecturer in Creative Writing, said:

“It was a bit of a challenge this year to get the all female longlist down to five books. But we did it! And we’re thrilled that the shortlist contains four books from small publishers; our first flash fiction collection (Day); two debuts (Byrne and Cowling); and the return of Sarah Hall who won the main Prize in 2012 and the reader’s prize in 2018.”  

The winner of the £10,000 prize, along with the winners of the Readers Prize and the MA prize for a Creative Writing student at Edge Hill, will be announced in November.

This year’s judges are last year’s winner David Szalay, Sara Hunt (managing director of Saraband Publishing) and creative writing lecturer Dr Zayneb Allak.

The Edge Hill Short Story Prize was founded in 2006 by the world’s first Professor of Short Fiction, Ailsa Cox, to highlight the intricate artisanship of short story writing and acknowledge the wealth of published collections available.

The 2019 prize was awarded to David Szalay for Turbulence (Jonathan Cape).

Last updated on Last updated on Was this page helpful? Yes No Thanks for your feedback! Please tell us more: