Short Story

Book your ticket for the Short Story Prize at Edinburgh International Book Festival here

The Edge Hill Prize is awarded annually by Edge Hill University for excellence in a published single author short story collection. The winner of the 2017 prize will receive £10,000, along with a specially commissioned artwork. There is also a £1,000 Readers’ Prize judged by BA Creative Writing students; and an additional category worth £500 acknowledging rising talents on the University’s MA Creative Writing course.

Previous years’ winners have been Colm Tóibín, Claire Keegan, Chris Beckett, Jeremy Dyson, Graham Mort, Sarah Hall, John Burnside, Kirsty Gunn, and Jessie Greengrass, who won the 2016 prize for An Account of The Decline of the Great Auk According to One Who Saw It.  The Readers’ Prize 2016 was won by China Mieville for Three Moments of an Explosion.  The other finalists were Kate Clanchy, Stuart Evers, Thomas Morris and Angela Readman.  Thomas Morris joins us as a judge for the 2017 prize, along with Dr. Rodge Glass, Reader in Literary Fiction at Edge Hill University; and Cathy Galvin, Founder and Director of The Word Factory.

Publishers are invited to submit collections for consideration up to the closing date of 3rd March 2017.




Last updated on Last updated on Was this page helpful? Yes NoThanks for your feedback!Please tell us more: