Previous Shortlists & Winners


Winner: Kevin Barry That Old Country Music (Canongate)

Professional portrait of short story prize shortlist author Kevin Barry

2021 short story prize winner Kevin Barry

Readers Prize: Alice Ash Paradise Block (Serpent’s Tail/Profile)


Alice Ash Paradise Block (Serpent’s Tail/Profile)

Rosemary Jenkinson Lifestyle Choice 10mg  (Doire Press)

Jo Lloyd  The Earth, Thy Great Exchequer, Ready Lies  (Swift Press)

Alexandros Plasatis Made by Sea and Wood, in Darkness  (Spuyten Duyvil)

Hannah Vincent She-Clown and other stories (Myriad Editions)



Winner: Shelley Day What Are You Like (Postbox Press)

Author Shelley Day smiling into the camera in front of some roses


Lucy Sweeney Byrne Paris Syndrome (Banshee Press)

Ruby Cowling This Paradise (Boiler House Press)

Sarah Hall Sudden Traveller (Faber)

Linda Mannheim This Way to Departures (Influx Press)


The Readers prize was awarded to Ruby Cowling for Flamingo Land.


Winner: David Szalay, Turbulence (Cape)

EHU Short Story Prize 2019 at Waterstone’s, Piccadilly, London on 25th October 2019.

Short List

Wendy Erskine, Sweet Home (Stinging Fly)

Vicky Grut,  Live Show, Drink Included (Holland Park Press)

Chris Power, Mothers (Faber)

Simon van Booy,  The Sadness of Beautiful Things (Penguin, USA)

Lucy Wood, The Sing of the Shore (4th Estate)


Winner: Tessa Hadley, Bad Dreams (Cape)

Short List

Sarah Hall, Madame Zero (Faber)

Alison MacLeod, All the Beloved Ghosts (Bloomsbury)

Tom Rachman, Basket of Deplorables (Riverrun Books)

Leone Ross, Come Let Us Sing Anyway (Peepal Tree Press)


Winner: Daisy Johnson, Fen (Cape)

Photographed by David P Scott. All rights reserved.

Short List

Lucy Caldwell, Multitudes (Faber)

Irenosen Okjie, Speak Gigantular (Jacaranda)

K.J. Orr, Light Box (Daunt)

Joanna Walsh, Vertigo (And Other Stories)


Winner: Jessie Greengrass, An Account of the Decline Of The Great Auk, According To One Who Saw It (John Murray Press)

Short List

Kate Clanchy, The Not-Dead and the Saved (Picador)

Stuart Evers, Your Father Sends his Love (Picador)

China Mieville, Three Moments of an Explosion (Macmillan)

Thomas Morris, We Don’t Know What We’re Doing (Faber & Faber)

Angela Readman, Don’t Try This at Home (And Other Stories )


Winner: Kirsty Gunn, Infidelities (Faber & Faber)

Short List

Madeleine D’Arcy, Waiting for the Bullet (Doire Press)

Carys Davies, The Temptation of Galen Pike (Salt)

Toby Litt, Life-Like (Seagull Books)

Anneliese Mackintosh, Any Other Mouth (Freight)

Rose Tremain, The American Lover (Chatto & Windus)


Winner: John Burnside, Something Like Happy (Jonathan Cape)

Short List

Jaki McCarrick, The Scattering (Seren Books)

Bernie McGill, Sleepwalkers (Whittrick Press)

David Rose, Posthumous Stories (Salt)

Rachel Trezise, Cosmic Latte (Parthian)


Winner: Kevin Barry, Dark Lies the Island (Jonathan Cape)

Short List

Emma Donoghue, Astray (Pan Macmillan)

Adam Marek, The Stone Thrower (Comma Press)

Jon McGregor, This Isn’t The Sort Of Thing That Happens To Someone Like You (Bloomsbury)

Jane Rogers,  Hitting Trees With Sticks (Comma Press)

Lucy Wood, Diving Belles (Bloomsbury)


Winner: Sarah Hall, The Beautiful Indifference (Faber & Faber)

Short List

A.J. Ashworth, Somewhere Else or Even Here (Salt)

Tessa Hadley,  Married Love (Jonathan Cape)

Rowena Macdonald, Smoked Meat (Flambard)

Zoe Lambert, The War Tour (Comma)


Winner: Graham Mort, Touch (Seren)

Short List

Michèle Roberts, Mud, Stories and Sex and Love (Virago)

Polly Samson, Perfect Lives (Virago)

Helen Simpson, In-flight Entertainment (Jonathan Cape)

Tom Vowler, The Method (Salt Publishing)


Winner: Jeremy Dyson, The Cranes that Build the Cranes (Abacus)

Short List

Jane Feaver, Love Me Tender (Vintage)

A.L. Kennedy, What Becomes  (Vintage)

Nuala Ni Conchuir, Nude (Salt )

Robert Shearman, Love Songs for the Shy & Cynical (Big Finish)


Winner: Chris Beckett, The Turing Test (Elastic)

Short List

Gerard Donovan, Country of the Grand (Faber)

Anne Enright, Yesterday’s Weather (Cape)

Shena Mackay, The Atmospheric Railway (Cape)

Ali Smith, The First Person and Other Stories (Hamish Hamilton)


Winner: Claire Keegan, Walk the Blue Fields (Faber & Faber)

Short List

Christopher Fowler, Old Devil Moon (Serpent’s Tail)

Jane Gardam The People on Privilege Hill  (Little Brown)

Simon Robson The Separate Heart (Vintage)

Robert Shearman Tiny Deaths (Comma Press)


Winner: Colm Tóibín, Mothers and Sons (Picador)

Short List

Neil Gaiman, Fragile Things (Headline Review)

Jackie Kay, Wish I Was Here (Picador)

Nicholas Royle, Mortality (Serpent’s Tail)

Tamar Yellin, Kafka in Bronteland (Toby Press)

Last updated on Last updated on Was this page helpful? Yes No Thanks for your feedback! Please tell us more: