Announcement – Edge Hill Prize 2020 Longlist

The longlist for 14th Edge Hill University Short Story Prize, the only UK based award to recognise excellence in a single authored short story collection, is announced today (06 July 2020).

The Edge Hill Short Story Prize was founded in 2006 by the world’s first Professor of Short Fiction, Ailsa Cox, to highlight the intricate artisanship of short story writing and acknowledge the wealth of published collections available.

The twelve strong longlist represents an exciting range of new writing from UK and Irish writers, and this year for the first time we have an all female longlist.

The longlist in full is:

Julia Armfield – Salt Slow (Picador)

Lisa Blower – It’s Gone Dark over Bill’s Mothers (Myriad Editions)

Elleke Boehmer – To the Volcano (Myriad Editions)

Lucy Sweeney Byrne – Paris Syndrome (Banshee Press)

Ruby Cowling – This Paradise (Boiler House Press)

Shelley Day – What Are You Like (Postbox Press)

Nicole Flattery – Show Them a Good Time (Bloomsbury)

Sarah Hall – Sudden Traveller (Faber)

Kirsty Logan – Things We Say in the Dark (Vintage)

Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi – Manchester Happened (One World)

Linda Mannheim – This Way to Departures (Influx Press)

Amanda O’Callaghan – This Taste of Silence (University of Queensland Press)

A short list will be announced by September 2020, with the winner of the £10,000 prize announced in November.

The judges of this year’s prize are David Szalay (Winner of the 2019 Edge Hill Short Story Prize), Sara Hunt (Managing Director of Saraband) and Dr Zayneb Allak (poet and creative writing lecturer at Edge Hill University).

A £1,000 reader’s choice award will also be given to an author from the shortlist, and there will be a £500 prize for the best short story submitted by an Edge Hill University  MA Creative Writing student.

Last updated on Last updated on Was this page helpful? Yes No Thanks for your feedback! Please tell us more: