2018 Short Story Prize winner Tessa Hadley

2018 Short Story Prize winner Tessa Hadley

Now in its 13th year, Edge Hill University’s Short Story Prize is open for submissions, with the winner due to receive £10,000 at a special event in London in November.

The Prize is the only UK-based award that recognizes excellence in a published short story collection and will also include a £1,000 Reader’s Choice award to a writer from the shortlist, and a further category for stories written by Edge Hill University MA Creative Writing students.

The Edge Hill Short Story Prize was founded in 2006 by the world’s first Professor of Short Fiction, Ailsa Cox, to highlight the intricate artisanship of short story writing and acknowledge the wealth of published collections available.

Billy Cowan, who took over the Prize last year from Ailsa, is again at the helm. Billy said:

“I’m thrilled to be running the competition again this year and hope to find a collection as brilliant and as deeply moving and profound as Tessa Hadley’s 2018 winning entry, Bad Dreams. We’ve had a fantastic few years with helping to discover new talent like Daisy Johnson (2017 winner) and Jessie Greengrass (2016 winner) and I can’t wait to find another collection that can match the brilliance of these last three winning entries.”

Judges for this year’s prize will be announced soon.

Publishers must submit collections for consideration by 5pm Friday 5th April 2019. The shortlist will be announced by 30th June 2019 with awards to be presented at a special event in London in November.

To be eligible, collections must have been published between 1st January 2018 and 31st December 2018. Authors must be born or normally reside in the British Isles (including Ireland). Self-published collections are not eligible for the award. For more details please see our Eligibility page.

The 2018 prize was awarded to Tessa Hadley for Bad Dreams (Cape). The Readers’ Choice winner was Sarah Hall for Madame Zero (Faber).

Click here for more information and to submit your entry.