Ailsa Cox addresses attendees at a previous Edge Hill Short Story Prize event

Ailsa Cox addresses attendees at a previous Edge Hill Short Story Prize event

The £10,000 winner of this year’s prestigious Edge Hill University Short Story Prize is announced this weekend (Saturday 3rd November).

Four of the five shortlisted authors will read at the event including literary giants Tessa Hadley and Sarah Hall.

Aside from crowning this year’s winner a £1000 Reader’s Choice Award will also go to an author from the shortlist and signed books will be available to buy on the night.

This year’s prize is judged by Alice O’Keeffe (literary critic for The Guardian), novelist Paul McVeigh, Ailsa Cox (the world’s first and only professor of the short story) and last year’s winner Daisy Johnson who was short-listed for this year’s Man Booker Prize.

Prize organiser, playwright and Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing, Billy Cowan, said:

“The Edge Hill Prize has garnered a reputation for discovering new exciting writers like Jessie Greengrass and Daisy Johnson. The shortlist includes extremely strong work from both ‘new’ writers such as Tom Rachman and well-established authors such as Tessa Hadley and Sarah Hall. It’s not going to be an easy decision for the judges but I’m excited to see who carries off the prize.”

The Edge Hill Short Story Prize was founded in 2006 by Edge Hill University’s Ailsa Cox. It remains the only annual prize that recognises excellence in a published, single-authored collection of short stories in the UK and Ireland.

This year’s shortlisted books are: Madame Zero by Sarah Hall; Basket of Deplorables by Tom Rachman; Bad Dreams by Tessa Hadley; All the Beloved Ghosts by Alison MacLeod and Come Let Us Sing Anyway by Leone Ross.

Tickets for the ceremony at 6.30pm are priced at £6 general admission and £4.00 for Waterstones Plus Cardholders. To book visit