A professor from Edge Hill’s Department of Law and Criminology has jointly edited a new collection of works examining contemporary issues in EU sports law and policy.

Professor Richard Parrish, in collaboration with Professor Jack Anderson (University of Melbourne) and Dr Borja Garcia (Loughborough University) have edited Edward Elgar Publishing’s Research Handbook on EU Sports Law and Policy.

Drawing on the expertise of leading academics and practitioners, including Dr Leanne O’Leary and Dr Andrea Cattaneo, fellow members of Edge Hill’s Centre for Sports Law Research, the Edward Elgar Research Handbook provides comprehensive analysis of the EU’s involvement in sport.

Structured around the key themes used by the EU Commission in the field of sport, namely sport in society, the economic dimension of sport and the organisation of sport, the Research Handbook is the definitive assessment of modern EU sports law and policy.

The application of such areas of EU law to sport and the influence of EU law on key policy issues such as doping, match-fixing and governance, are detailed in this comprehensive collection. The topical chapters by experts in their field, also touch upon the future evolution of EU sports law.

The book is receiving critical acclaim. Michael Beloff QC, from Blackstone Chambers, UK said: “this compilation by three renowned experts will be invaluable to all who practice in the ever-growing field of sports law.”

Professor Mark James from Manchester Metropolitan University regards the Handbook as “an essential resource for anyone with a personal or professional interest in the sports law and policy of the EU. It draws together many of these fields’ leading experts to provide a definitive insight into the impact of EU sports law and policy on modern sport that will stand as a benchmark for future work.”

The contributors are J. Anderson, W. Andreff, S. Boyes, A. Cattaneo, J.-L. Chappelet, C. Coors, N. De Marco, M. de Wolff, B. García, J. Kornbeck, S. Ó’Conaill, L. O’Leary, R. Parrish, N. Partington, K. Pijetlovic, S. Schenk, E. Szyszczak, A. Tsoukala, S. Van den Bogaert, A. Vermeersch, S. Weatherill.

The foreword is by Yves le Losteque, Head of the Sport Unit in the European Commission.