Edge Hill Short Story Prize

The hotly anticipated shortlist for this year’s Edge Hill Short Story Prize has been announced today (Tuesday 13 June).

Five collections have made the shortlist from a longlist of forty-one, four of them debut collections.

Multitudes (Faber), from Belfast’s prize-winning novelist and playwright Lucy Caldwell charts the threats facing women as they grow up.

The stories in Daisy Johnson’s Fen (Cape) are set in an uncanny and weirdly magical East Anglian landscape while Irenosen Okjie’s Speak Gigantular (Jacaranda) explores the surreal and sometimes comic aspects of contemporary experience.

Winner of the 2016 BBC National Short Story Award, K. J. Orr focuses on connections and disconnections between characters across the world, in Light Box (Daunt). Joanna Walsh’s second collection, Vertigo  (And Other Stories), follows one character’s life through a series of fragments.

The winner of the £10,000 prize will be announced at an exclusive Short Story Prize event at the Edinburgh International Book Festival on the 26th August, to be hosted by the university in the famous Spiegeltent. The event will be attended by the shortlisted authors and judges

Ailsa Cox

Ailsa Cox


Prize organiser Ailsa Cox, the world’s first Professor of Short Fiction at Edge Hill University, said: “What an amazing line-up this is. All five writers are rising stars, and you’re going to hear a lot more of them in the future. In each of these collections, you’ll find passion, wit and intelligence, and above all a way of working with language that is unique to the short story form.”



Edge Hill Short Story Prize is the only UK-based award that recognizes excellence in published short story collections and will also include a £1,000 Reader’s Choice Award to an author from the shortlist.

This year’s judges are Thomas Morris (finalist, Edge Hill Prize 2016), Cathy Galvin (Director and Founder, The Word Factory) and Dr Rodge Glass (Reader in Literary Fiction, Edge Hill University).

The 2016 award was bestowed on Jessie Greengrass for The Decline of the Great Auk According to One Who Saw It. The other shortlisted authors were Kate Clanchy, Stuart Evers, China Miéville, Thomas Morris and Angela Readman.

The University is also organising a VIP launch event at the festival for Edge Hill University Press and the publication of their second book Atlantic Drift poetry anthology.

Held at 9.30pm on 19th August in the Party Pavilion, the launch event follows the University’s sponsorship of Merseyside poet Roger McGough’s event at 8.15pm.

Book a ticket: Event Closed.