Organisers of the Edge Hill Short Story Prize have revealed an exciting and eclectic long-list for this year’s award.

Now in its ninth year, the Edge Hill Short Story Prize it is the only UK award that recognises excellence in a published collection of short stories and has attracted established names competing alongside relative newcomers for the £5,000 main prize, a £1,000 Readers’ Prize and an additional category worth £500 acknowledging rising talents on Edge Hill University’s own MA Creative Writing course.

The 2015 long-list includes a number of well-established, award-winning writers including Rose Tremain (Angel Literary Award, Sunday Express Book of the Year, Black Memorial Prize, Whitbread Novel Award), two-time Man Booker Prize winner Hilary Mantel, A.L Kennedy (Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, Scottish First Book of the Year Award), Stella Duffy, winner of Stonewall Writer of the Year 2010 and long-listed for the 2008 Orange Prize, Tyler Keevil whose debut novel was long-listed for Wales Book of the Year, shortlisted for the Guardian Not the Booker prize, and received the Media Wales People’s Prize 2011 and Toby Litt who edited The Outcry – Henry James’ last completed novel – for Penguin and was nominated by Granta magazine as one of 20 ‘Best of Young British Novelists’ in 2003.

Dr Ailsa Cox

Dr Ailsa Cox

Dr Ailsa Cox, organiser of the Prize and Reader in English & Writing at Edge Hill University said: “This is a fascinating list with such a wide range of authors, and a strongly international flavour, with short story writers from all across the world living and writing in the UK and Ireland. The short story really is a global phenomenon, and its home is right here at Edge Hill.”

The full 2015 long-list:

Life-Like Toby Litt (Seagull Books)
Burrard Inlet Tyler Keevil (Parthian)
Second Hand Rain Georgia Carys Williams (Parthian)
His Last Fire Alix Nathan (Parthian)
Saltwater Lane Ashfeldt (Liberties Press)
Spirits Abroad Zen Cho (Fixi Novo)
Any Other Mouth Anneliese Mackintosh (Freight)
Everything is moving everything is joined Stella Duffy (Salt)
The Redemption of Galen Pike Carys Davies (Salt)
Looking Out of Broken Windows Dan Powell (Salt)
The Rental Heart and Other Fairy Tales Kirsty Logan (Salt)
Little Crackers Beda Higgins (Saraband)
Things to Make and Break May-Lan Tan (CB Editions)
Waiting for the Bullet Madeleine D’Arcy (Doire Press)
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher Hilary Mantel (Fourth Estate)
Gifts for the One Who Comes After Helen Marshall (ChiZine)
Above Sugar Hill Linda Mannheim (Influx Press)
Greetings, Hero Aiden O’Reilly (Honest Publishing)
The Settling Earth Rebecca Burns (Odyssey Books)
Life Here Below Michael J. Farrell (New Island Books)
You Turn Your Back Royston Tester (Tightrope Books)
All the Rage A.L. Kennedy (Jonathan Cape)
The American Lover Rose Tremain (Chatto & Windus)
Infidelities Kirsty Gunn (Faber & Faber)
Clemency Browne Dreams of Gin Orfhlaith Foyle (Arlen House)
Staying Thin for Daddy Deirdre Brennan (Arlen House)

The shortlist of five will be revealed in May and the winners announced at an award ceremony on 2 July at the Free Word Centre, London. The judges are novelist, editor and Edge Hill lecturer Dr Rodge Glass, 2014 Readers’ Choice winner Rachel Trezise and The Guardian’s Chris Power.

The 2014 winner was John Burnside with his collection Something Like Happy (Jonathan Cape). Judge Kevin Barry described the work as “A tremendous collection from a writer working at the full tilt of his gifts.” Other previous winners and shortlisted authors include Kevin Barry, David Rose, Bernie McGill, Sarah Hall, Jeremy Dyson, Graham Mort, Robert Shearman and Helen Simpson.