The 2015 Edge Hill Prize for the Short Story is now open for entries.

The search is on to find the winning author of a published short story collection, the only such award for a whole collection from a British or Irish author in the UK.

The 2014 winner was John Burnside with his collection Something Like Happy (Jonathan Cape). Judge Kevin Barry described the work as “A tremendous collection from a writer working at the full tilt of his gifts.”

As well as the Main Literary Award, a 2014 Reader’s Choice award was presented to Rachel Trezise for her collection Cosmic Latte (Parthian). Rachel has previously featured in the Orange Future List and won the inaugural Dylan Thomas Prize. She will join the 2015 judging panel with novelist, short story writer and Edge Hill Senior Lecturer Rodge Glass. Writer and critic Chris Power rounds off the judging panel who will together decide on a shortlist of five authors.

Other previous winners and shortlisted authors include Kevin Barry, David Rose, Bernie McGill, Sarah Hall, Jeremy Dyson, Graham Mort, Robert Shearman and Helen Simpson.

All awards will be presented at a prize-giving ceremony at the Free Word Centre in London in July.
Prize co-ordinator Dr Ailsa Cox, Reader in Creative Writing and English at Edge Hill University, said:

Ailsa Cox

Ailsa Cox

“Each year the competition grows stronger and more intense as more publishers recognise the significance of this unique award for the short story.
“The award is now in its ninth year and I’m sure we’ll continue to attract a wide range of high quality writing from across the British Isles including Ireland.”


The prize has three categories:
• The main literary award of £5,000. A panel of judges will choose the winner from a shortlist of five collections to be announced in May.
• The £1,000 Readers’ Choice, chosen from the same shortlist.
• A student prize, which will reward one of the stars of Edge Hill University’s MA Creative Writing course.

Publishers are invited to submit collections for consideration up to the closing date of 2nd March 2015. Collections must be published during 2014 and self-published collections are not eligible. For more information about the prize, click here or please contact Dr Ailsa Cox on 01695 584121.

Three copies of each published collection must be submitted to Christine Riaz, English & History Department, Edge Hill University, St Helens Rd., Ormskirk, L39 4QP. Please include email, phone number and postal address for the publisher’s representative.