EHU272 Prospectus Library040

Edge Hill’s Learning Services department has been shortlisted in the Outstanding Contribution to Leadership Development category of the Times Higher Education (THE) Awards 2014.

Hundreds of nominations for outstanding institutions, departments and individuals were submitted across 18 categories covering the full range of university activity. These awards showcase the pioneering spirit, adaptability and sheer quality of the Higher Education sector.

Alison MacKenzie, Dean of Learning Services said: “I am delighted that the success of our approach to nurturing and surfacing leadership qualities amongst our professional staff has been shortlisted for a THE award.”

The Learning Services team have been recognised for meeting the twin challenges of rapid institutional growth and ever-increasing demands of change within a multi-professional academic service.

Alison explains: “Our focus has been to encourage and stretch the potential of staff who are typically graduates, in a professional role but who have not necessarily had the opportunity Alison Mackenzieto step out of their comfort zone and test their own leadership qualities. Drawing on the AUA (Association of University Administrators) CPD (Continuous Professional Development) framework, staff have been coached and supported through a process of personal reflection to identify where they need to develop their leadership skills. These have then been practically applied and tested as they have taken on the responsibility of leading on service-wide initiatives. The focus has always been on growing the potential of individual staff and the results in many instances have been stunning.”

The winners will be announced on Thursday 27 November 2014 at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London. Once again this promises to be a spectacular event with over 1000 guests expected to attend, including politicians, senior sector figures, and academic and university staff from all corners of the UK.

Edge Hill is also shortlisted for the coveted University of the Year award, the winner of which will be announced on the same evening.