Dr. Tanya Byron

Consultant Clinical Psychologist, writer and broadcaster Dr. Tanya Byron will carry out her first official duty as Chancellor Elect of Edge Hill University on Wednesday, 1 October, 2008 when she will present 35 Excellence Scholarships.

Dr Tanya Byron said: “I am very much looking forward to meeting all the students who have been awarded scholarships to Edge Hill. For some it will be the first step on the road to a successful time at university, while for others the scholarship will give them the chance to continue their hard work in the second and third year of their course.”

The Excellence Scholarships form part of Edge Hill University’s national award-winning financial support package, giving students up to £2,000 worth of financial help for a specific academic year.

Applications for scholarships are made by those who have excelled in one of five scholarship categories: sport, performing arts, volunteering, creative arts and online excellence. Selection by committees, made up of more than 20 members of staff, considered over 200 applications for the limited places at Edge Hill.

The university has seen a 68% rise in scholarship applications since the scheme was first introduced 3 years ago.

Dr Tanya Byron is the author of the Safer Children in a Digital World report which was the catalyst for The UK Council for Child Internet Safety (UKCISS), launched today Monday, 29 September, 2008. The new watchdog will target Cyber-bullying, online pornography, violent video games and websites that encourage young people to harm themselves.

Speaking at the launch of UKCISS in London, Gordon Brown said it was essential to ensure that young people can have internet access “with the minimum of restrictions but the maximum of opportunities”.

In May this year Dr Byron made history by confirming that she will become the first ever Chancellor of Edge Hill University and her appointment is an important milestone in the development of Edge Hill since gaining university status in May 2006.

View case studies of students awarded Excellence Scholarships this year >>