UniSkills Workshops

What is a UniSkills Workshops?

UniSkills workshops are an opportunity for a deeper dive into a specific skill that will support you on your academic journey. Facilitated by our friendly and knowledgeable Academic Skills Advisors, the workshops provide an informal safe space where you will be supported alongside other students in a small group setting.

This term all our workshops will be delivered online and facilitated as a series of webinars. This allows you to join and take part wherever you are – and don’t forget you can attend as many webinars as you like!

 

Workshops Available

UniSkills Webinars – Spring 2021 *BOOKINGS NOW OPEN*

Students can self-book on any of the webinars listed below via our new student portal.

JANUARY 2021

Mon 4th Jan (11am-12pm) – NYNU: Set Your Study Goals in 2021
Tue 5th Jan (11am-12pm) – NYNU: Study Smarter in 2021
Wed 6th Jan (3pm-4pm) – NYNU: Grow Your Academic Resilience
Thu 7th Jan (12pm-1pm) – NYNU: Develop Your Academic Writing
Fri 8th Jan (11am-11:30am) – NYNU: Action Plan Your Feedback

Mon 25th Jan (1pm-2pm) – Grow Your Academic Resilience
Mon 25th Jan (2pm-3pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 1 (UniSkills Extra)
Tue 26th Jan (12pm-1pm) – Finding Academic Information
Wed 27th Jan (10am-10:45am) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 27th Jan (12pm-1pm) – Introduction to Academic Writing
Wed 27th Jan (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Thu 28th Jan (12pm-1pm) – Being Critical
Fri 29th Jan (12pm-1pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 2 (UniSkills Extra)

FEBRUARY 2021

Mon 1st Feb – Fri 5th Feb (12:15pm-12:45pm) – Getting Started with UniSkills
Mon 1st Feb (2pm-3pm) – Introduction to Academic Writing
Mon 1st Feb (11am-11:45am) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)
Tue 2nd Feb (2pm-3pm) – Develop Your Academic Writing
Wed 3rd Feb (2pm-3pm) – Powerful Presentations
Wed 3rd Feb (10am-10:45am) – Harnessing Digital Accessibility (UniSkills Extra)
Thu 4th Feb (2pm-2:45pm) – Using Harvard Referencing
Fri 5th Feb (2pm-3pm) – Reading Academic Texts

Mon 8th Feb (12pm-12:30pm) – Finding Electronic Journals Using Discover More (Bitesize)
Mon 8th Feb (2pm-2:45pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 1 (UniSkills Extra)
Tue 9th Feb (1pm-2pm) – Become a Paraphrasing Pro
Tue 9th Feb (3pm-3:45pm) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 10th Feb (12pm-1pm) – Conducting a Literature Review
Wed 10th Feb (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Thu 11th Feb (1pm-1:30pm) – Finding Online Resources Using the Library Catalogue and Your Reading List (Bitesize)

Tue 16th Feb (12pm-1pm) – Become a Paraphrasing Pro

Wed 17th Feb (1pm-2pm) – Develop Your Academic Writing

Wed 17th Feb (9am-9:45am) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)

Fri 19th Feb (12pm-1pm) – Being Critical

Mon 22nd Feb (1:30pm) – Finding Online Resources Using the Library Catalogue and Your Reading List (Bitesize)

Tue 23rd Feb (1pm-2pm) – Finding Academic Information

Wed 24th Feb (12pm-1pm) – Introduction to Academic Writing

Wed 24th Feb (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning

Thu 25th Feb (1pm-1:45pm) – Using Harvard Referencing

Fri 26th Feb (12pm-12:45pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 2 (UniSkills Extra)

MARCH 2021

Mon 1st Mar (1pm-2pm) – Grow Your Academic Resilience
Tue 2nd Mar (3pm-3:45pm) – Harnessing Digital Accessibility (UniSkills Extra)
Wed 3rd Mar (12pm-1pm) – Develop Your Proofreading Strategies
Thu 4th Mar (10am-10:45am) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)
Fri 5th Mar (1pm-2pm) – Conducting a Literature Review

Mon 8th Mar (1pm-1:30pm) – How to Action Plan Your Feedback (Bitesize)
Tue 9th Mar (12pm-1pm) – Develop Your Academic Writing
Wed 10th Mar (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Thu 11th Mar  (1pm-2pm) – Reading Academic Texts
Fri 12th Mar (12pm-12:45pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 1 (UniSkills Extra)

Mon 15th Mar – Fri 19th Marr (12:15pm-12:45pm) – Moving Forward with UniSkills

Mon 15th Mar (2pm-2:45pm) – Developing Strategies for Learning: Part 2 (UniSkills Extra)
Tue 16th Mar (2pm-2:30pm) – Finding Electronic Journals Using Discover More (Bitesize)
Wed 17th Mar (2pm-3pm) – Being Critical
Thu 18th Mar (9am-9:45am) – Using Assistive Technologies at University (UniSkills Extra)
Thu 18th Mar (2pm-3pm) – Powerful Presentations

Mon 22nd Mar (12pm-1pm) – Become a Paraphrasing Pro
Tue 23rd Mar (12pm-12:30pm) – How to Action Plan Your Feedback (Bitesize)
Wed 24th Mar (2pm-4pm) – Returning to Learning
Thu 25th Mar  (12pm-1pm) – Develop Your Proofreading Strategies
Fri 26th Mar (12pm-12:45pm) – Using Harvard Referencing

Our Uniskills workshops/webinars run throughout the academic year and cover a range of key academic skills including:

  • Academic reading, writing and referencing
  • Effective exam preparation
  • Finding academic print and digital resources
  • Conducting a literature review
  • Presentation skills
  • And much more…

We have recently transitioned to a new booking system and you can now view and book all UniSkills webinars in one handy location on the new student portal.

If you experience any problems accessing the new system or would like any support booking onto a UniSkills workshop/webinar then please get in touch with us.

Student Feedback

We love hearing your feedback about our Uniskills workshops. Here are just a few examples of feedback we have received this last academic year:

“The session was excellent, it really put me and a friend at ease”

“The workshop was supportive and answered my questions very well, I understand the topic better now”

“Thank you for being there to help with invaluable information and support!”

“Really enjoyed it, very informative and will definitely be back for a different session”

“I find the Uniskills courses excellent and they have helped me enormously”

If you have any feedback about a session you attended, or would like to make a suggestion for future topics please do get in touch.

Further Help & Support