Ultrasound Scanning for Reproductive Practice HEA4112

Overview

This module will develop the practitioner’s skills in the utilisation of ultrasound scanning for reproductive medical practice. The focus will be on the particular use of scanning for fertility investigations and interventions.

Module Code: HEA4112
Level: 7
Credits: 20
Cost: £720 for Sept 2020 to July 2021

Who is this module for?

This module can be accessed by people working as qualified nurses or doctors within an Assisted Conception Unit & have access to a mentor who has appropriate ultrasound scanning skills (determined by the module co-ordinator).

This module can be studied as a standalone module.

What are the key aims of the programme?

This module will develop the practitioner’s skills in the utilisation of ultrasound scanning for reproductive medical practice. The focus will be on the particular use of scanning for fertility investigations and interventions.

What will I study?

  • A working knowledge of the physics of ultrasound.
  • Ultrasound equipment relating to reproductive medicine.
  • Ultrasonic appearances of normal female anatomy.
  • Diagnostic signs of common pelvic anomalies.
  • Tracking of follicular genesis.
  • The use of scanning to assist conception.
  • Tuition in the mode of action and the use of ultrasound equipment.

How will I be assessed?

  • A set of practice competencies will need to be demonstrated within the practice setting.
  • A scenario based written assessment will be used to determine the students understanding of the use of ultrasound scanning to assist conception.

On successful completion you will:

  • Demonstrate clinical competency in the use of ultrasound scanning in the investigation, diagnosis and management of infertility.
  • Demonstrate competency in the preparation and use and understanding of ultrasound equipment as it relates to reproductive medicine.
  • Critically analyse the use of ultrasound scanning in the management of conception, synthesising the basic theory that underpins ultrasound scanning.

Study Dates and Venues

September 2020 S1

Venue: Liverpool Women's Hospital, Fertility Centre

Starts: Mon 21st Sep 2020

Session Times:
  • Monday 21 September 2020, 8.45 am - 4.30 pm, Attendance
  • Tuesday 22 September 2020, 8.45 am - 4.30 pm, Attendance
  • Wednesday 23 September 2020, 8.45 am - 4.30 pm, Attendance
  • Thursday 24 September 2020, 8.45 am - 4.30 pm, Attendance
  • Friday 25 September 2020, 8.45 am - 4.30 pm, Attendance
  • Monday 19 October 2020,10.00 am - 4.00 pm, ASSESSORS ONLY
  • Monday 26 October 2020, Tutorials, Phone or Face to Face
  • Monday 9 November 20 Drafts Submitted Online
  • Monday 14 December 2020, Submit Written Assessment
  • Monday 8 February 2021, Preclinical Assessment Day
  • Monday 5 April 2021, MCQ Closes - Online Assessment
  • Monday 17 May 2021, Clinical Assessment to be Completed by Today

Study dates and times are subject to change.

February 2021 S2

Venue: Liverpool Women's NHS Foundation Trust

Starts: Mon 22nd Feb 2021

Session Times:
  • Monday 22 February 2021, 8.45am-4.30pm, Attendance
  • Tuesday 23 February 2021, 8.45am-4pm, Attendance
  • Wednesday 24 February 2021, 8.45am-4pm, Attendance
  • Thursday 25 February 2021, 8.45am-4pm, Attendance
  • Friday 26 February 2021, 8.45am-4pm, Attendance
  • Monday 16 March 2021, Tutorials, Phone or face-to-face
  • Wednesday 14 April 2021, 10am-4pm, Assessors Only
  • Monday 26 April 2021, Drafts submitted online
  • Tuesday 1 June 2021, Submit written assessment online
  • Wednesday 22 September 2021, Preclinical assessment day
  • Monday 22 November 2021, MCQ closes online assessment
  • Monday 20 December 2021, Clinical assessment must be completed today
  • Study dates and times are subject to change.

    Further Information

    Module availability varies from year to year and will be subject to minimum student numbers being achieved. Places will be allocated on a first come first served basis. Due to the popularity of some modules it may be that the module is fully booked when your application is received. We will include your details on a waiting list and allocate you a place on the next available intake.

    For details of how to apply, please visit www.edgehill.ac.uk/health/cpd/apply.

    If you have any other queries about studying with us, please see the FAQs www.edgehill.ac.uk/health/cpd/faqs.

    Please contact the module leader:
    Dr Lesley Briscoe at Edge Hill University, 01695 657055 or email Briscoel@edgehill.ac.uk .

    Pathways

    This module can be studied on a stand alone basis or as part of:

  • MSc Advanced Fertility Practice