Skip Navigation

Migration Working Group – North West

Migration Working Group-North West (MWG-NW) brings together academics, organisations and practitioners working on migration who are either based in the North West of the UK, or researching migration in this region.

Edge Hill University academics’ work touches upon a wide range of topics within the field of migration, such as migrants’ integration, diasporas and representation, refugee law and policy, locality and diversity, and arts, health and wellbeing. The University is also active in supporting humanitarian initiatives for refugees through Action For Refugees.

MWG-NW is in line with EHU’s Research Strategy, which states that the University is committed to responding to and engaging with national and international research agendas and produce research that has direct application to challenges that concern professional practitioners, business, third sector organisations and community groups.

Migration Working Group – North West logo

The group works closely with other major research groupings in the University and with organisations and practitioners in the region, and aims to enhance the visibility of migration issues and integrate its work with other academic and professional initiatives at national and international level. Members’ expertise and activities position MWG-NW as a stakeholder in the broad field of migrants’ inclusion and overall public discourse that surrounds migration and broader issues of social justice in the North West of the UK, and at national and international level.

Group members

Group director

Dr Zana Vathi

Reader in Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Deputy director

Dr Ruxandra Trandafoiu

Reader in Communication


Dr Agnieszka Martynowicz

Senior Lecturer in Criminology, Programme Leader Criminology

Dr Daniel Gordon

Senior Lecturer in European History

Professor Kevern Verney

Associate Dean (Research)

Dr Mariagiulia Giuffré

Senior Lecturer in Law

Rosa Fong

Reader in Communication

Dr Ayushman Bhagat

Lecturer in Human Geography

  • Antonina Anisimovich
  • Charlotte Hastings
  • Diane Scutt
  • Gergana Ganeva
  • Isa Inuwa Dutse
  • Dr James Renton
  • Martin Ford
  • Mike Stoddart
  • Prof Owen Evans
  • Patrick Soulsby
  • Dr Shereen Shaw
  • Stacey Harte
  • Dr Steven Clayton
  • Umit Yildiz
  • Dr Yannis Korkontzelos
  • Dr Yiannis Koufonikos
  • Dr Alex Balch (Liverpool)
  • Dr Giuseppe Scotto (Liverpool John Moores)
  • Dr Terry Phillips (Liverpool Hope)
  • Dr Zaki Nahaboo (Liverpool Hope)
  • Philomene Uwamaliya (Liverpool John Moores)
  • Aleksandra Marcinkowska (University of Bradford)
  • Anna Key (Liverpool City Council)
  • Jill Summers (Liverpool City Council: Community Cohesion)
  • Maya al-Safadi (Interpreter)
  • Tim Beyer Helm (Worldwide Wednesday Liverpool and New Europeans)
  • Wiebke Rüterjans (In Limbo)

Explore our research

Expertise and publications Research projects and consultancies