Skip Navigation

Edge Hill University Law Students’ Society

Edge Hill University’s Law Students’ Society is a student led academic organisation created for and by law students.

Our Society has a strong presence in the Department of Law, Criminology and Policing, and plans a series of events planned for students throughout the year. Our main goal is to help student enjoy the full experiences of university life and get the most from it.

A taste of what the society does:

  • Winter and summer ball to celebrate the end of semesters.
  • Mentoring to give students someone to reach out to if they are struggling or want some advice.
  • Careers and alumni networking events.
  • Topical events like International Women’s Day, or those involving barristers or solicitors.
  • We have student lead and created workshops on different employment and university skills like how to create a successful LinkedIn profile.
  • We also actively find opportunities for students in external competitions and work experience chances.
  • Our Society has a student led fundraising team with the 2022/23 charity being Freshfield Animal Rescue Shelter.
  • We also recruit first year representatives each year, along with by the end of your first academic year lots of other roles available to get involved in.

One of the key things we do as a Society is host annual internal Mooting, Negotiation, Client Interviewing and Mock Trial competitions. These are organised and judged by students for the sole benefit of gaining experience for other students.

Law society students sit outside the Law and Psychology building.

The committee

President – Lara Webber

Vice President of Events – Megan Gough

Vice President of Social Media and Mentoring – Lauren Wearing

Competitions Director – Louise Collins

Master of Moots – Michael Ellwood

Junior of Moots – Aimee Ford

Head of Negotiation – Amber Farrell

Junior of Negotiation – Charntae Bennett

Client Interviewing Judges – Emma Wilkinson and Lauren Wearing

Senior Mock Trial Judge – Maisie Grice

Junior Mock Trial Judge – Sayeeda Khanom

External Competitions and Opportunities Director – Sean McEvoy

Blog Editor and Writer – Katie Atherton

Junior of Events – Emma Threlfall

Mature Student Representative – Hayley Reed

First Year Representatives – Lucy Baines and Lauren Scott